Daily Schedule

  • 7:20 – 7:50 am:  Students arriving before 7:50 am will report to the cafeteria for breakfast OR go directly to the gym or to their hall to be supervised before reporting to homeroom. 
  • Supervision is not provided until 7:20 am  Parents who drop off students prior to the start of school do so at their own risk. 
  • 7:50 am:  Students report to homeroom.
  • 8:00 am:  Students must be in homeroom by 8:00 or be considered TARDY. Parents must bring students into office after 8:00.
  • 3:00 pm:  School day ends.  “Pick up” time is 3:00 pm
Important Information
  • “DROP OFF” and “PICK UP” must take place at the front of the building unless otherwise directed.
  • The morning drop-off zone is located in the front of the building.  Please do not use the side teacher parking lot or other outside doors.
  • The afternoon pick-up zone for Pre-K through grade 2 students will be the front of the school.  The afternoon pick-up zone for grade 3 through 5 students AND THEIR YOUNGER SIBLINGS will be the side bus lane after bus dismissal.
  • All bus/pick up changes for students must be arranged with the front office no later than 2:00 pm.

Faculty & Staff


Holly Tucker, Principal
Randy Reeves, Assistant Principal
Rachel Pace, Assistant Principal

•Special Education

Tiffany Brown
Steven Haggard
Ashley Kelly
Haylei Weeks•
Suzanne Williams
Tracie Blackstock*
Paige Davis*
Candice Hood*
Karen Roberts*
Carolyn Tucker*

Tracy Daniels
LaWanda Green
Stacey Griffin♦
Dixie Sherrod•
Dedra Stephens
Renae Taylor
Cappie Walker•
Cheryl Paulk*
Haylee Piltz*
Michelle Ricks*
Kelsea Taft*
Joyce Tarrant*
Kim Taylor*
Kim Wilson*

Grade 1
Diane Benson♦
Ashley Hurt
Jennifer Kendrick
Rebecca Pylant
Heather Ross•
Tammy Sanford
Jennifer Walker
Laura Walker
Sharon Long*

Grade 2
Amanda Barrs
Amelia Edwards
Denise Hamby
Rebecca Lewis
Kayla Nelms•
Anna Joy Reeves
Ariel Roberts
Allison Ross
Andrew Watson*

Grade 3
Michelle Apperson•
Kim Busbin♦
Abby Clayton
Ann Clayton
Dixie Gibbs
Summer Holt
Haley Spell
Allyson Tankersley
Deidre Baldwin*

Grade 4
Krista Hester♦
Carol Lynne Johnson
Nathan Martin•
Pam Ray♦
Sarah Roberts♦
Tammy Ross
Dixie Sherrod
Kyle Taft
Kelly Walker
Tina Jagielski*

Grade 5
Charity Couey
Ashley Covington•
Nancy Guerrero
Kayla Haire♦
Meghan Law
Alecia Martin♦
Crystal Purvis
Andrea Reeves•
Keri Tucker♦
Nelda Walker*


Leigh Chestnutt - PE
Dee Hodnett - Music
Renee Pridgen - Art
Jennifer Ross - Technology
Sheila Taylor - Journeys
Melanie Tucker - Ag
Chris Young - PE
Lynn Turner* - PE

Self-Contained SpEd
Rhonda Paulk
Jennifer Purcell
LaVonda Edge*
Abby Padgett*
Kayla Williams*

Kay Jankiewicz
Cindy Sutton

Media Center
Christie Copeland
Melba Merritt*

Paige Crawford
Brandi Johnson
Dana Paulk

Support Staff

Dee Cunningham - Bookkeeper
Paige Graham - Counselor
Cindy Giddens - RTI
Michele Griffin - Receptionist
Kodie Harris - Student Teacher Parapro
Kim Prather - Technology
Tammy Sellers - RTI Coordinator
Nathan Smith - Timeout
Samantha Smith - Counselor
Mendy Vickers - School Nurse
Brenda Wright - SIS

Lunchroom Staff
Pennie Hollis
Jackie Merritt
Virginia Rogers
Jennifer Sadler
Brenda Sumner - Manager
Frances Woods

Irwin County Elementary School
521 Lax Highway
Ocilla, GA 31774
Holly Tucker, Principal
Dr. Thad Clayton, Superintendent of Schools
A Title I School-wide School


The mission of the Irwin County School System is to CARE:

College and Career Readiness – Academic Support – Relationships – Excellence


Our Vision is to embrace innovation, initiate positive change, and provide an equitable and excellent educational opportunity that prepares all graduates for success in their endeavors.


The Future Starts Here!

Belief Statements

  • All students can learn.
  • Student learning is the chief priority for the school.
  • Students learn in different ways and should be provided with a variety of instructional approaches including technology to support their learning.
  • A safe and physically comfortable environment promotes student learning.
  • Teachers, administrators, parents, and the community share the responsibility for advancing the school’s mission.

Toll-Free School Safety Hotline

The 1-877-SAY-STOP toll- free hotline was created by the Georgia Department of Education. Students can anonymously report anyone who has a weapon, has threatened to bring a weapon to school, or has violated any other school safety rules. The hotline hours are Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; after 5 p.m. all calls will be forwarded to the Georgia Bureau of Investigation. Callers will not be asked to reveal their identities. Make the call; you can make a difference!